COVID-19 update: The Government has announced a JobKeeper Payment for employers, employees and sole traders. You can find this information and stay up-to-date on the latest support for business on our coronavirus page.×

You are here:
Image of winners at the Essington Lewis Awards 2019 with the Minister for Defence Industry, the Hon Melissa Price MP.

What are the Essington Lewis Awards?

The Essington Lewis Awards are the Defence community’s top award for excellence where industry and the Department of Defence have worked collaboratively to deliver an outcome to the Australian Defence Force (ADF).

Eligibility requirements

Eligible programs, for all categories, include activities that contribute to the Department of Defence’s ability to effectively equip and sustain the Australian Defence Force (ADF) within the 2019 calendar year.

With entries open to companies of all sizes (Primes and SMEs) working in Defence, the five categories are:

  1. Major acquisition - Over $50 million
  2. Minor acquisition - Under $50 million
  3. Major sustainment activity - Over $20 million/year
  4. Minor sustainment activity - Under $20 million/year
  5. Support/services (e.g. assistance to the Department of Defence reform / above the line support, or could be corporate support services etc)

Who is eligible?

All categories are open to companies who work closely with the following agencies:

  • Capability Acquisition and Sustainment Group (CASG)
  • Defence Science and Technology Group (DSTG)
  • Estate and Infrastructure Group (E&IG)
  • Chief Information Officer Group (CIOG)
  • Defence procurement agency where there is genuine collaboration between partners

Work done needs to demonstrate true collaboration between the relevant Defence contracting agency and Defence industry. The judges are actively looking for examples of how Defence and Industry work together at a practical level.

There will be two finalists in each category, all of whom are eligible to be winners of the Essington Lewis Trophies. One for a Prime and one for a SME.

How do I apply?

In an effort to streamline the awards, all interested parties are asked to read the Call for Entries and submit an Entry Form by 4pm Friday January 24, 2020.

Trophies and certificates will be awarded at the Defence + Industry Gala Awards in Canberra in mid 2020.