Business Early Closure Grant – River Murray Event SA

Financial support is available for businesses in the River Murray regions (Riverland, Murray River Lakes and Coorong) needing to close early or cease trading as a result of high water flows on the River Murray.

The grant is no longer available

Application detail:

Grants will be available up to a date to be determined by the Department.

What do you get?

One-off grants of $10,000 for non-employing businesses and $20,000 for employing businesses.

Who is this for?

River Murray region businesses.


The following one-off grants are available:

  • $20,000 for employing businesses
  • $10,000 for non-employing businesses.

An employing business is a business with staff that are under the control of the business who receive regular Pay As you Go (PAYG) salary or wages and PAYG Withholding amounts as well as superannuation paid by the employer. An owner, partner, or beneficiary of a trust is not considered to be an employee for the purpose of this grant.

The business must have been or expects to be forced to close or cease trading as a result of the high River Murray flows and associated restrictions for at least 14 days, with closure occurring prior to the date set by the Department, which will be set having regard to wider flooding.

Check if you can apply

To be eligible, applicants (either employing or non-employing) must meet all the following criteria as at 1 November 2022:

  • have a valid and active Australian business number (ABN) and be registered for goods and services tax (GST)
  • be carrying on the operation of a business located in the River Murray regions
  • have an annual turnover of more than $75,000 (excluding GST) in the 2021-22 financial year
  • not engage in illegal activity
  • an employing business will need to demonstrate a total Australian grouped payroll of less than $10 million in the 2021-22 financial year.

The River Murray regions include the following:

  • Alexandrina Council
  • Berri Barmera Council
  • Coorong District Council
  • District Council of Karoonda East Murray
  • District Council of Loxton Waikerie
  • Mid Murray Council
  • Murray Bridge Council
  • Pastoral Unincorporated Area
  • Renmark Paringa Council.

Apply now

Apply for the Business Early Closure Grant – River Murray Event SA

Find out more about your eligibility and how to apply.

Contact information